Thursday, December 21, 2017

12/18: S: Sumo DL @ 135. WOD: 3rnd of 15cal bike, 10 TGU

We worked on sumo deadlifts. These are normal hands (not close for a high pull) and wide stance. I find these much easier than a straight dead lift, and was able to really understand what they’ve been saying about “push into the ground” when you lift up. We didn’t work towards a max, but instead worked towards a heavy set of 5. I finished my sets at 135. I didn’t quite do them straight through, as I took a second breath between rep 3 and 4, but it was only a breath’s worth. So, I hope that counts. 135 is certainly my heavy for this, as I dunno if I could have done another set of 5 at that weight. Maybe, but also maybe not.

We also worked on how to do a Turkish get up. It’s a really cool, full body workout with a kettle bell. You start by laying down. KB in one hand, arm straight up, and corresponding leg is bent up. Throughout the entire process (1 rep = this move done on both sides), the arm and KB should be towards the ceiling. Your arm doesn’t follow your body, but instead always points up. This sucker is hard, but was a lot of fun! I was super slow with it, but sped up as I did it more. I really enjoyed this one:

  • Step 1: Sit up. You can use the hand not holding the KB as leverage for sitting up.
  • Step 2: Lean toward the KB side and lift hips off the ground.
  • Step 3: Tuck bent knee under the body and bring it back into what will feel like a lunge position.
  • Step 4: Stand up.


From there, you do the same steps in reverse to lay back down, and repeat on the other side.

GOAL: 3 RFT in 10 min of 15 bike cals, 10 TGU

ACTUAL: 2 rounds + 15 cals

The WOD included the TGU, which was awesome. It also included the assault bike, which was not awesome. I’m coming to like it better as I use it (or maybe as my breathing gets better?) but it still isn’t cool. I was alright for pacing on the bike. Winded for sure when done with 15, but not dead. Then came the TGU. Really focusing on the steps and form, I was super slow. This first round is why I didn’t finish this WOD in the 10 mins. It was totally possible, but whatever. I honestly think I finished round 1 in 5 minutes. I was much faster in round 2 (I know this because I got through 2 rounds + the 15 cals).


I think I’d do better if I did this one again. Maybe not finish it, but certainly better.

No comments:

Post a Comment