Nope. I made every excuse in the book, and didn’t go. Yes, I DID have
to do laundry (desperately). Yes, I DID have stock brewing in the crock pot
that I needed to take care of. Yes, I DID have gifts to prep, organize, and
wrap to mail home. Yes, I WAS still hurting from 12/4’s deadlifts (calves man.
I was a wobbly walker!). I did not do laundry, I did put away the stock, I
prepped and organized gifts, didn’t wrap.
These were all excuses. To be honest, I was feeling pretty down. I keep
thinking that this is all so impossible and hopeless. That I’ll stay fat and
out of shape forever. That I’ll never qualify to be in the military, and won’t
get lucky with a job – which leads to being in accounting for the rest of my
life. All of this, it’s just too big. I can’t stop from falling down the rabbit
hole of negative thinking, and it’s terrifying.
I watched a youtube video of Jordan Shaloub (from #Jackedlikejordan,
formerly Buzz Feed) and it was just her talking to her trainers and fellow gym
members about how it was when they first started crossfit. They all said the
same thing – that it was scary, difficult, felt impossible, and embarrassing.
So, I went to bed thinking that I’m experiencing normal feels and
thoughts. I’m not doing exceptionally poorly. Several people reiterated that
people should scale when needed, that the beginning was all modified to suit
them for a long time, that a person shouldn’t compare themselves to the other
people in their classes but should instead compare themselves to how they were
when they started. And, this echoes what Kevin and other members at CFA have told
me.
I’m sure I’ll go through this more than once. But, I just need to
remember that everyone sucked in the beginning. It isn’t any harder for me than
it was for anyone else. I’m not *special* in that. Thank goodness.
No comments:
Post a Comment