Thursday, October 12, 2017

Day 4 take 2

This was a difficult day. I walked out of the gym feeling like I didn’t belong there. Warm up went well. The stretches are getting easier to remember how to do, and in a good order. Jumping rope is getting better. Less whacks to my legs and hands. I still have to do it in short spurts, but I’m able to do more sessions as time goes on. After warming up, we did a super short untimed circuit of 250m row and 15 squats. I think my form for squats is getting better? Or rather, I can clearly identify when I’m doing it wrong now. So, maybe the more accurate observation is that I’m more aware of how I should be doing it.

We played with the bar some! Started practice with the pvc stick, but move to the 15lb bar. We worked on hang power cleans and, I think the other move is just a power clean – the one starting from below your knees, but ending in the “clean” movement with elbows out/up. I feel incredibly awkward doing this, but it’s super fun. I am having some flexibility problems in the arms, but that will get better the more I do it. The big problem is that when you’re bringing the barbell up to your shoulders, you do this thrust move to drive momentum from your lower half, UP. This momentum makes your arms swing up, which helps you bring the weight up, and then you engage your arms enough to roll out your elbows and control where the barbell goes. That thrust is throwing me. I’m going to enjoy doing lifts I think. And when my brain disengages and my body “gets” the move, it’ll be easier, and a LOT more fun.

And now…. The WOD. THIIIISSSSSSS is where I fucked myself up. The WOD was 15 HPC, 6 sprints, 12 HPC, 4 sprints, 9 HPC, 2 sprints. The “sprints” were just the length of the gym, a really short distance. We had 8 minutes to complete everything, but we do them as quickly/accurately as possible. Short sprints like this, no problem. HPC, no problem. I got this, and am excited.

Then I start.

Got through 15 of them slowly and I was comfortable with almost all of them. Did my little sprints and instantly saw how far behind the other two I was. I don’t know if my mind went back to “performance” mode, or what, but when I looked up and saw what the other two were doing, I freaked out and was hyperventilating/having an asthma attack. I can’t say which it was. It happened SO suddenly that I was super freaked. I couldn’t even talk properly to have the trainer grab my inhaler for me, but he understood the panting and pointing. I took my two puffs, I worked through it, I cried, and then I started the rest of my sets.

It held me up for a good while. And damnit I was angry, embarrassed, and my lungs were on fucking fire. THE WORST. But, I finished like, right at the 8 minute beep. So, I did them all within the time given. I’m trying to ignore that the other two had moved on to pushups while the clock was ticking for me. I still hurt from that. I’m trying to figure out the trigger, bc I damn sure don’t want to go through that again, let alone in from of in-shape people. I hurt so much, that I barely had any dinner when I got home.

WOD:

Goal: 15 HPC, 6 sprints, 12 HPC, 4 sprints, 9 HPC, 2 sprints in 8 minutes.


Actual: 15 HPC, 6 sprints, 12 HPC, 4 sprints, 9 HPC, 2 sprints in 8 minutes.

No comments:

Post a Comment