Ok! This was my first official day of CrossFit classes. I tried to get there on Tuesday, but traffic wasn't on my side and I would have gotten there late, so I waited for the 630 class. Of which there wasn't one. Whomp whomp. So, I went yesterday evening at 530. And, apparently there ARE 630 classes then. blah.
Feels:
Anyway, first class. Exciting. Embarrassing. Enlightening.
Exciting because, first one!! Embarrassing because, well, yeah. Enlightening because I really felt it out and tried my best. Well, maybe not my best. I'm not sure. COULD I have really held out on planks a little longer? COULD I have rowed faster? I dunno. It felt like my best at the time, but now that I'm thinking about it, I don't know if I went easy at some points or not. I hope that's something I can understand about myself as I continue - knowing when I'm stopping bc I NEED to or I WANT to.
It was really upsetting to not be able to hold a plank for 30 seconds at a time. And at the end, I was getting maybe 10 or 5 second holds. Really hard, really frustrating. I moved slow through everything. But a couple of classmates gave the "you got this" whoop and that helped. A girl at the very end was all "Almost there!" And counted the last 10 seconds out for me.
I didn't want to disappoint any of them for some reason, but I did disappoint myself. While it gets to me, I can admit that at least a part of me knows that the disappointment will be there for a while. I'm going from fat girl with zero stamina to being pushed in workouts 3 days a week. It's going to be hard. Everything is gonna be hard. If it were easy, I wouldn't be there, bc I'd be bored.
I really do need to get over the emotions of this, bc they will be a constant, but since March, I've become less and less of a robot. Today, I'm not hurting, but I'm feeling the parts of my body that I worked yesterday. Hopefully that means that I did something right, or at least on the way to right. Like I said, I'm not sure if I went as hard as I truly could have. I'm sure I'm subconsciously being hesitant, and I hope I get over that SOON. The "hurt" I'm feeling feels good though. There isn't anything keeping me from doing this afternoon's class, so heck yeah I'm going.
Class:
Let's see... We worked on hollow positions. We laid on the ground face up and face down, and made a bowl. Feet up 6" or so, arms straight out and up the same. Both directions. It was really hard to keep it going. There were a few times where I stopped early, rested, then went back up. But, 3 out of 16 total sets isn't bad. 20 seconds hold, 10 seconds rest for each direction.
We then worked on handstand pushups. This meant that he worked us through the progression of positions that lead to being able to do one. FOR ME, that meant staying at a plank and trying pushups. So, I planked my ass off yesterday. Realizing that I've been wrong all my life, that past trainers have had me do them wrong or the super crazy easy way, is frustrating. Same with pushups. Elbows out is wrong! I had no clue. And of course doing it right is so much harder. So, I worked at it. I watched the others working at various levels, and I planked.
Then we moved on to the WOD. This was 3 sets at increasing intensities of snatch/handstand pushups/row. 1 was 10 reps/1 minute/10 cals. 2 was 20 reps/2 minutes/20 cals. 3 was 30 reps/3 minutes/30 cals. I did not finish. I was slow between everything. I successfully held back an attack (ya for small mercies). But I was very slow. We had 20 minutes to do everything. Oh yeah, I've been rowing wrong - THIS WHOLE TIME. So angry.
Anyway, I moved slowly between each item, took my time. The planks are what killed me though. I just couldn't hold them. And the time isn't 3 minutes to do planks, it was continue until you have a cumulative total of 3 minutes. I think it took me 5 or 6 to get to 2 minutes. I only finished 1.5 of the last set. Didn't even get to the row. I just kept pushing up and then falling a very short time later, 10-15 seconds. Just couldn't make myself do it, and I tried. I'm really upset that I didn't finish. But that was yesterday. It is what it is I guess.
WOD:
Goal: complete in 20 minutes
- 10 barbell snatches
- 1 minute plank
- 10 cals burned rowing
- 20 barbell snatches
- 2 minute plank
- 20 cals burned rowing
- 30 barbell snatches
- 3 minute plank
- 30 cals burned rowing
Actual: completed in 20 minutes
- 10 barbell snatches
- 1 minute plank
- 10 cals burned rowing
- 20 barbell snatches
- 2 minute plank
- 20 cals burned rowing
- 30 barbell snatches
- 1.5 minute plank
No comments:
Post a Comment